Little Scholars

Pop Warner Little Scholars, Inc. (PWLS) is the only national youth sports organization in America that requires its participants to perform adequately in the classroom before permitting them to play.

We believe that the standards we have set give these children a sense of responsibility and an appreciation for academics and athletics that will help them develop later on in life.

Like such organizations as the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) and National Federation of High Schools (NFHS), PWLS has academic guidelines and criteria that need to be met in order for a child to participate.


Proof of satisfactory progress in school is required. A 2.0/70% or the equivalent shall be the minimum grade point average acceptable to participate. In cases of doubt, conflict of opinion, or if a valid report card is not submitted, the nationally published scholastic eligibility form shall be used and deemed final.

NOTE: This rule as it relates to scholastic grades may not be made more stringent by any team, association, or league, as other rules may be. No local team/squad may be allowed to participate in Regional/National sponsored championships or bowl games if it has not met the nationally published scholastic requirements.


We understand that not all student-athletes are able to meet our scholastic requirements. If a child does not meet the requirements of scholastic fitness, he/she may fill out and submit a Scholastic Eligibility Form.

This form is to be completed by those participants in the Pop Warner program that have not met the National Scholastic Requirement of 70 percent and/or 2.0 Grade Point Average (GPA) at the time of certification. 

This form must be accompanied by a progressing progress report or report card to be eligible for play after the October 18, 2013 deadline. That report must be dated between Sep. 13, 2013 and Oct 18, 2013.

If no progressing progress report or report card is given in this window then the player shall be found ineligible for the rest of the year. Download the Scholastic Eligibility Form


Each year, the most academically accomplished Pop Warner kids compete for Academic All-American status. This process begins at the association level and up through each of the eight Pop Warner regions to the national level.

In 2013 over 425,000 kids participated in Pop Warner. As our numbers once again reached record levels, a record numbers of All-American Scholar applications were once again submitted to us...more than 9,700 applications!

The Pop Warner All-American Program requires a minimum 96% grade point average to apply. After the applications have been processed, Pop Warner determines National First Team All-Americans (35 football, 35 cheer per grade), National Second Team All-Americans and National Honorable Mention Scholars.

Find out More About the All-American Scholar Program & National Banquet

San Diego Pop Warner Scholars

Congratulations to our 2013/14 
San Diego Pop Warner Scholars.

 Name Association     Awarded

  5th Grade Awards 
Jaysen Mikha National City HM
Cannon K Kanzius Mt Helix 2nd team
6th Grade Awards
Brendan T Andersen Santee HM
Nathan L Temple Santee 2nd team
Luke D Simanek Santee 2nd team
Clay Fordham Alpine 2nd team
Jake R Ifrid Lakeside 2nd team
Ryan Crews Mt Helix HM
Cody A Wilson Lakeside HM
Norman L Stone, Jr Santee 2nd team
Lincoln J Sumner Santee HM
Ryan A Ramage Santee HM
Taylor A Wurtele Lakeside 2nd team
Robert Max Pontzius Santee
Emily C Cocita Santee 2nd team
7th Grade Awards
Steven TGantney San Carlos 2nd team
Ted A CDexheimer Alpine 2nd team
Javier C Castaneda Santee 2nd team
Travis A Deal Santee 2nd team
Alexander C Leggate Santee 2nd team
Jordin X Young Santee HM
Tanner D Ifrid Lakeside HM
Zakary L Farris Mt Helix HM
Kyleigh E McQueen Lakeside 2nd team
Kennedy L Nevling Lakeside 2nd team
Ireland R Colson Lakeside 2nd team
Jenna D Kotyk San Carlos 2nd team
Taylor J Smith Lakeside 2nd team
8th Grade Awards
Dylan J Ellsworth San Carlos 2nd team
Cole A Roelofsz Lakeside 2nd team
Rawnell D Walker VP 2nd team
Cameron D Kane Lakeside HM
Robert M Harding, III Lakeside 2nd team
Cannen R Mitchell Lakeside HM
Sydney K George Lakeside HM
Aubrey M.Baker Lakeside 2nd team
Lindsay C Levin Santee 2nd team
Sara K Thornbrough Santee 2nd team
Olivia M Bosjolie Lakeside 2nd team
Camrynn N Kemmsies Lakeside 2nd team
Barbara Rodriguez National City 2nd team
Brooke A Lyons Coronado 2nd team
Alyssa L Grudzinski Lakeside 2nd team
Kathryn S Bradford Coronado 2nd team
Sarah A Bates Mt Helix
Amanda N Johnson Santee